Filipino swimmers shine in Tokyo Invitational | | Philippine News
Home  » Latest News

Filipino swimmers shine in Tokyo Invitational

Philippine Swimming League (PSL) bets in the 2016 Buccaneer Invitational Swimming Championship held recently at the St. Mary’s International School pool in Tokyo, Japan.

Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh of Immaculate Heart of Mary College-Paranaque won all her three gold medals in the girls’ 9-10 years old category in record fashion.

Philippine Swimming League  (Facebook / MANILA BULLETN)

Philippine Swimming League

Mojdeh clocked 33.07 seconds in the 50m butterfly to erase the record of Japanese Natsuki Uchino (34.93) last year. Her time of 2:44.23 in the 200m Individual Medley eclipsed the 2:50.65 record established by Irene Kershaw on April 20, 2003.

Mojdeh led the 200m freestyle relay team to the gold medal with a record time of 2:21.49, breaking the 10-year-old mark of 2:23.31 set by the Buccaneers-Japan team in 2006. Mojdeh’s teammates are Triza Tabamo, Shaine Sanchez and Julyiana Calibjo.

Trump Christian Luistro of Hope Christian School in Legazpi City, Albay dominated the boys’ 8-under 25m butterfly, 25m backstroke, 50m freestyle and 100m Individual Medley.

Rio Lorenzo Malapitan of Divine Word College in Calapan, Oriental Mindoro ruled the 50m butterfly, 50m breaststroke and 100m Individual Medley in the boys’ 11-12 category.

The other gold winners were Marc Bryan Dula (boys’ 9-10 50m backstroke and 50m butterfly); Lee Grant Cabral (boys’ 9-10 100m butterfly); Albert Sermonia II (boys’ 11-12 100m butterfly); Tiffany Shaine Sanchez (girls’ 9-10 50m backstroke); Kyla Soguilon (girls’ 11-12 100m IM); Diane Fabicon (girls’ 15-18 200m backstroke); girls’ 9-10 200m medley relay; girls’ 13-14 400m medley relay; and the girls’ 13-14 400m freestyle relay team of Felice Alexis Reyes, Paula Carmela Cusing, Kyla Soguilon and Shyne Nicole Villagomeza.

Also winning silver medals were Mojdeh (100m freestyle and 50m breaststroke); Dula (100m backstroke); Cusing (200m butterfly); Malapitan (50m freestyle); Tabamo (200m freestyle); Sanchez (50m breaststroke and 100m backstroke); Soguilon (girls’ 11-12 200m Individual Medley and 100m backstroke); Lowestein Julian Lazaro (boys’ 13-14 100m butterfly); Paul Christian King Cusing (boys’ 15-18 400m Individual Medley and 200m breaststroke); boys’ 9-10 200m freestyle relay of Dula, Luistro, Cabral and John Rylle Villagomeza; boys’ 9-10 200m medley relay team of Dula, Luistro, John Rylle Villagomeza and Lee Grant Cabral; and the boys’ 13-14 400m freestyle relay team of Lucio Cuyong II, Zachie Gallegos, Jairus Lester Laguidao and Lazaro.

The bronze medal winners were Malapitan (200m IM); Dula (100m butterfly and 100m breaststroke);Cabral (50m breaststroke and 200m IM);Lazaro (50m freestyle and 100m freestyle); Cuyong (200m breaststroke); Fabicon (200m breaststroke); Tabamo (50m freestyle and 50m butterfly); boys’ 11-12 200m medley relay and boys’ 11-12 200m freestyle relay team of Malapitan, Angelo Macaraig, Albert Sermonia II and Remogenes Sobretodo.

The swimmers were accompanied by PSL President Susan Papa, PSL Secretary General and International Affairs Director Maria Susan Benasa, NCR Regional Director Joan Mojdeh and coaches Alex Papa and Jeffrey Medrano.