Comelec: Puerto Princesa proclaims 2016 poll winners | | Philippine News
Home  » Latest News

Comelec: Puerto Princesa proclaims 2016 poll winners

PUERTO PRINCESA CITY -– Three days after the delay in the canvassing of election returns here due to technical glitches, the Commission on Elections (Comelec) finally proclaimed the winners, who are mostly reelectionists.

Puerto Princesa (Photo courtesy of Google Map)

Puerto Princesa (Photo courtesy of Google Map)

Reelectionist candidate Lucilo Bayron, who emerged with a final vote count of 56,874, was proclaimed winner of the mayoralty race around 7 p.m. Thursday evening (May 12, 2016) against staunch opponent Edward Hagedorn, who only gathered 40,736 votes.

Wearing his signature campaign color yellow polo shirt, Bayron’s hand was raised in proclamation by Comelec Acting Officer Mangumbaya Madale with reelectionist Luis Marcaida III and the 10 councilors, who are all under his political line up.

The winning councilors are Nancy Socrates, Matthew Mendoza, Jimbo Maristela, Jonjie Rodriguez, Jimmy Carbonell, Roy Ventura, Victor Oliveros, Henry Gadiano, Rolando Amurao, and Nesario Awat. They will compose the 15th Sangguniang Panlungsod.

In the 3rd Palawan Legislative District, Gil Acosta will come in as the new House representative after emerging as the candidate with the highest number of votes at 46,982 against strong rival reelectionist Douglas Hagedorn, who collected a final vote count of 43,881. Also proclaimed was lone board member winner Al Rama.

The proclamations came amid an attempt through a petition by former congressman Hagedorn to freeze the proceedings.

Candidate and former mayor Hagedorn briefly told the local media that the May 9 election was the end of his political career, and that for a while, he will leave the city to return later not as anything but a tourist to the city that he introduced to the world.

Bayron, on the other hand, is positive on calls for unity now that the election season is over.